Parallels between Home Building and Software Engineering

As I embarked on this journey to renovate my home, there were constant threads that connected me back to software engineering. I couldn't help from seeing the parallels that home building has with building a software product.

Here are some examples of what I have noticed

  1. Roofers are similar to UI engineers or Mobile engineers. They have the responsibility of making the home presentable and functional.

  2. Carpenters/Framers are similar to infrastructure/server engineers. They set up the skeleton of the home. Nothing can exist without them. Their errors will cause others to fail.

  3. Plumbers, electricians, drywallers, and painters are product engineers. I think this one is self-explanatory.

  4. Insulation installers remind me of security engineers. They keep the bad weather conditions out. Roofers and siding installers are similar to this.

  5. People who pour your foundation are Operating Systems/Kernel developers. Thankfully, in the software world, we don't mess with the operating system as often as home builders do.

Anyways. I think I will stick with software for the foreseeable future. Commanding a server cluster is easier than coordinating contractors.